How are good quantum numbers related to perturbation theory?

In summary: I've found in Griffiths' textbook.In summary, the good quantum numbers are the eigenvalues of the eigenvectors of an operator that remain eigenvectors of the operator with the same eigenvalues after time evolves. This is important because the eigenstates of the Hamiltonian are the stationary states of the system. If there is degeneracy in the problem, then it introduces two problems: 1) you don't know which states to use, since any linear combination of the degenerate eigenstates is also an eigenstate with the same energy, and 2) the expressions derived in the nondegenerate case involve dividing by zero when there is degeneracy. However, using good quantum numbers can
mathingenue
TL;DR Summary
Meaning of good quantum numbers and relationship to perturbation theory and matrix diagonalization
Hello folks, I am currently studying from Griffiths' Introduction to Quantum Mechanics and I've got a doubt about good quantum numbers that the text has been unable to solve.

As I understand it, good quantum numbers are the eigenvalues of the eigenvectors of an operator O that remain eigenvectors of such an operator with the same eigenvalues as time evolves. At least that's the Wikipedia definition: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_quantum_number. This is equivalent to saying that the operator O commutes with the Hamiltonian H of the problem in question.

But what does this have to do with degenerate perturbation theory? As I see it, degeneracy introduces two problems in the use of nondegenerate perturbation theory: 1) you don't know which states to use, since any linear combination of the degenerate eigenstates is also an eigenstate with the same energy, and 2) the expressions derived in the nondegenerate case involve dividing by zero when there is degeneracy. How do good quantum numbers help solve these problems?

And what does all of this have to do with diagonalizing the Hamiltonian matrix?