Why Do Different Texts Present Bilinear Forms Differently?

In summary, the conversation is about a question regarding a proposition in Andrew McInerney's book on differential geometry. The proposition, which deals with the dual of a vector space and forms, is found to be stated differently in other books by Seymour Lipshutz and Bruce Cooperstein. After discussing the discrepancy, it is concluded that McInerney's proposition may be incorrect. The conversation ends with the person thanking Deveno for clarifying and stating that they will proceed with their reading.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Andrew McInerney's book: First Steps in Differential Geometry: Riemannian, Contact, Symplectic ...

I am currently focussed on Chapter 2: Linear Algebra Essentials ... and in particular I am studying Section 2.8 The Dual of A Vector Space, Forms and Pullbacks ...

I need help with a basic aspect of Proposition 2.8.14 ...

Proposition 2.8.14 reads as follows:https://www.physicsforums.com/attachments/5272I wanted some computational examples related to this proposition ... ... so I searched in the following books ...

Linear Algebra by Seymour Lipshutz (Schaum Series)

and

Advanced Linear Algebra by Bruce Cooperstein (CRC Press)... ... BUT ... ... I was confused by an apparent difference in the statement of the Proposition/Theorem ...The equivalent proposition/theorem in Lipshutz reads as follows:https://www.physicsforums.com/attachments/5273The equivalent proposition/theorem in Cooperstein reads as follows:View attachment 5274Now both Cooperstein and Lipshutz seem to have reversed the role of the \(\displaystyle w\) and \(\displaystyle v\) in McInerney's proposition ... that is, in their notation they seem to assert the following:

\(\displaystyle b(v,w) = v^T B w \)
Can someone please explain the apparent discrepancy ... ?

Help will be appreciated ...

Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
I believe McInerney is in error.

Deveno said:
I believe McInerney is in error.