Which University and Major is Best for a Career in Pure Physics or Engineering?

In summary: Zz.I would not expect a lot of math courses to coincide with engineering, but I would expect a lot of math and physics courses to coincide. Most engineering programs will have physics and math as required courses, so you would be getting a good foundation in both fields.
Mozart
I'm sure a lot of folk have had to make tough decisions when faced to decide what they want to do for the rest of their lives. It seems I have 2 years to decide what I want to do for a living. I've narrowed it down to either studying pure physics, or aerospace engineering. I love the idea of both of them, and could see myself enjoying the profession.

So which factors would sway my decison? What's the schooling like for the two? I'd imagine that in most cases an aerospace engineer receives the larger income. What else is there to consider? Oh and by the way if I were to study physics I'd be doing so at Mcgill University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada since it is so close to where I live. If I were to study aerospace engineering I am not sure which university I would have to go to. I think Concordia may offer a masters degree program in aerospace engineering.

Thanks for the feedback...if there will be any.:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey, I just went through the exact same dilemma last year in college. I started out taking the initial classes an aerospace engineer would take, but throughout the year, I realized more and more that engineering just wasn't for me. I still love math and science, but I felt that engineering was not the path for me, so Physics it was.