Which European Universities Offer Top Programs in High Energy Physics?

In summary, the conversation discussed the academic background of a student currently studying at Ecole Polytechnique in France with a major in High Energy Physics. The student is considering various options for their graduate studies, including a joint master's program in theoretical physics at ENS and Ecole Polytechnique, a final year at ETHZ in Zurich, or a one-year MSc program in England. The pros and cons of each option were also discussed, including language practice, fees, and funding. The conversation also included a personal experience of someone who regretted moving for their master's program and a discussion about the admission process for the joint master's program at ETHZ. Finally, one of the participants asked for the academic records of the other and
IvanG
Hello,

I'm currently an undergraduate student (well, a graduate one in France, but I'm considered as an undergraduate in the UK or the US) in Ecole Polytechnique, France. I followed a strong cursus in mathematics and physics and I am know in my last year in Ecole Polytechnique with a major in High Energy Physics. My interests are mainly in particle physics and theoretical physics.
Next year I have several opportunities to finish my graduate studies before beginning a PhD :

- Do a Master 2 in France : a joint master from Ecole Polytechnique and Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) in Theoretical Physics (should be admitted without problem)
- Do the final year of the master in High Energy Physics at ETHZ, Zurich (where I'm sure I'll have no problem being admitted), graduating with a joint high energy physics degree from both Ecole Polytechnique and ETHZ.

Other opportunities in Europe : one year MSc in England. I'm considering :
- Imperial College, UK (MSc in Quantum Fields and Fundamental Forces)
- Cambridge, UK (Master of Advanced Studies in Mathematics, partIII, which is were you can study theoretical physics in cambridge)