Which easier probabilty or differential equations?

In summary, the conversation revolves around choosing between differential equations and probability as an elective for an engineering student. While differential equations may be more relevant to the field of engineering, probability can also be useful and may pop up frequently in various forms. However, the level of difficulty for each course varies and some students may find one easier than the other. Ultimately, it is important to have a strong understanding and conceptual understanding of both subjects.
mohamadh95
I'm an engineering student, and in my next semester I want to take one of these 2 courses, differential equations or probability. I'm good in math but I'm taking some hard engineering courses and that's why I'm willing to choose the easiest of these 2 courses. Thank you for your advice.

Physics news on Phys.org
mohamadh95 said:
I'm an engineering student, and in my next semester I want to take one of these 2 courses, differential equations or probability. I'm good in math but I'm taking some hard engineering courses and that's why I'm willing to choose the easiest of these 2 courses. Thank you for your advice.

The obvious choice for engineering is DE. Choose the most appropriate course, not the easiest one.

Differential equations is an elective?

Well it's true that DE is more appropriate for my field of studies but I would really like to know which is easiest.
And about this question:
Turion said:
Differential equations is an elective?
Both courses are required, they are not electives.

For the first half semester, I suspect DE would be easier. For the second half, probability would be easier, IMHO.

I'd say differential equations is easier overall.

It really depends on what level. The first term of DE is pretty standard, but probability classes vary more in difficulty.