Which applied physics concentration to pick?

In summary, the conversation discussed the speaker's dilemma in choosing a concentration for their applied physics major. They also inquired about career paths for dual majoring in applied physics/applied math and the possibility of concentrating in biophysics or optical science and engineering. The speaker expressed their interest in participating in something like the Google X Lunar Prize in the future, but did not want to change their major or dual major in computer science or study astrophysics. Other participants in the conversation suggested that aerospace engineering or electrical engineering may be more useful for such a goal. However, the speaker did not want to change their major and considered getting a master's in engineering after studying applied physics and math.
sarick
sorry i already made a similar topic before but i didnt get any response so i decided to be more specific. i am an applied physics major freshman. i have to pick a concentration of studies but i don't know what to pick.

what are some possible career paths for dual majoring in applied physics/applied math?

concentration in biophysics?

optical science and engineering?

the reason i picked applied physics is because i love physics and couldn't decide which engineering i want to major in.

on random note,i want to participate in something like google x lunar prize in the future.but i don't want to change my major or dual major in computer science or study atrophysics..

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, most likely not astro physics for that, you would need something like an aerospace engineer, electrical engineer etc. I do not really see how astro would be useful at all for landing a vehicle on the moon...

Klockan3 said:
Well, most likely not astro physics for that, you would need something like an aerospace engineer, electrical engineer etc. I do not really see how astro would be useful at all for landing a vehicle on the moon...