Where should I go this summer? Help

• Thread starter iacephysics
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Summer
In summary, the conversation is about a sophomore physics student who is trying to decide where to do their summer research. They are considering working with a professor at their own university or participating in an REU program at another school. The benefits of doing research at their own university include building a strong relationship with a professor, the possibility of publishing a paper, and having a longer timeframe to work on a project. The benefits of an REU program include gaining experience, getting a paid position, and potentially exploring a different field. Ultimately, it is suggested that they continue working with their current professor and potentially participate in an REU program during future summers.
iacephysics
Where should I go this summer? Help!

I am facing a dilemma here. I can't decide where to go for my summer research this year.
I am a sophomore at a Big Ten university that is well known for its physics program, especially condensed matter. I am taking the second semester of both upper level quantum mechanics and E&M right now and am close to complete all the required physics classes.

I worked in my physics department last summer already for a high energy physics professor. My work involved exclusively computer engineering and programming that had nothing whatsoever to do with physics.

This semester, I just started working for a new professor in AMO physics. The research involves cooling and trapping atoms with lasers. Right now, I am building circuit boards for the apparatus of the experiment. I will also be learning about laser cooling and trapping, building the laser, vacuum chamber, doing some laser spectroscopy when the lab is finally set up. The professor wants me to stay for the summer.