Where Can Engineering Enthusiasts Find Quality Electronic Components?

In summary, the conversation discusses various sources for electronic components, including digikey.com and mouser.com. The speaker mentions their experience ordering through the federal supply system in the military and now as an engineering student. They also recommend using findchips.com to search for parts across multiple distributors.
EbolaPox
I am wondering if anyone has a good source for electonic components (resistors, capacitors, inductors, transformers, switches, etc.). I was an electronic's technician in the military and we order all of our equipment through the federal supply system. Anyway's now I'm just an engineering student/enthusiast and I have some "ideas" I want to try out but no real source of supply. Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
www.digikey.com

www.mouser.com[/URL]

They used to supply mainly to hobbyists and low volume manufacturers, but now they're very big time, and still friendly. They take VISA over the phone or via web ordering. I think the minimum order is $25 or $50, but I'm not sure. We even use these guys at my work -- lots of next-day rush orders to help us in prototype builds, etc.

BTW, another great trick is to use [url]www.findchips.com[/url] to search multiple distributors for parts. findchips.com searches Digikey, Mouser and a bunch of other disti's for you, so with one search you can see where parts are available and often the pricing.

[url]www.findchips.com[/url]

Last edited by a moderator:

Hi there,

I am an electrical component supplier and I would be happy to assist you in finding the right components for your projects. We have a wide range of electronic components including resistors, capacitors, inductors, transformers, switches, and more.