When is work done on an object?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of work done on an object and how it is affected by external and internal forces. The correct answer is that no work is done on the block when it is lifted using 1000 Joules of energy, but it gains 1000 J of gravitational potential energy. This is because potential energy can only be defined for internal forces, and in this scenario, the gravitational force between the Earth and the block is external. However, the work done by gravity and the change in gravitational potential energy are equal and opposite. The conversation also raises the question of what forces count as work done on an object, and it is determined by identifying external forces acting on the object.
Celestion
Hi, this is my first post here.
I have a degree in physics and i do some maths and physics tutoring.

Recently I realized that I have some holes in my understanding of work, based on a question I was doing with a student (this is not the question I'm asking here though).

I'll use a really simple situation that highlights my problem.

A block is lifted up, using 1000 Joules of energy. How much work is done on the block?

The way I would have thought of this previously is, 1000 J of mechanical work is done on the block. It gains 1000 J of gravitational potential energy. Therefore energy is conserved for the block.

But the correct answer is NO work is done on the block. +1000 J of mechanical work is done on it, and -1000 J of gravitational work is done on it for a net work of 0 J.

Initially, this seemed odd to me and made me think, if no work is done on the block, how can it be 1000 J better off in terms of total energy? Then I thought that although "the block" is better off by 1000 J, the source of the 1000 J of mechanical energy is 1000 J worse off, so everything still balances, and there are really 4 flows of energy when you count everything.