When does perseverance fail in learning mathematics?

• Thread starter conure
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Wall
In summary: It's important to have a good teacher to guide you through the material. If you're having difficulty with any particular problem or area of study, post your questions here (or on the homework forums) and people will work with you. Doing it alone is very difficult.
conure
When do you hit "the wall"?

Hey all,

I am currently in my first year of undergraduate degree on a software development BSc and am studying a quite introductory mathematics course which effectively only goes up to higher algebra and trig/geometry.

Most of the course is self taught from books and so far, though I've had a few frustrating days where I haven't been able to grasp something immediately, I have been able to answer all the questions to a high standard.

I haven't actually learned mathematics before as I switched off at school (in all subjects), but I was curious..When do I hit a wall where perseverance doesn't work any more, where nothing but raw mathematical ability is the way to progress?

The reason is because at the moment I enjoy it a lot, but I'd say I'm far from a natural talent because it can take me a while for concepts to sink in...but I'm considering taking a further class that goes through calculus etc because I quite enjoy the algebra.

I've heard a lot of people say they struggle with calculus. I'm definitely not short of motivation and for the past 5 months I have studied about 8 hours a day 5 days a week, but I'm not confident I could keep get through the tougher material. A lot of people say programming is like maths, but I'm far better at the former!

Please could any of you offer advice?

Physics news on Phys.org