What's the reference frame for the universe as a whole?

In summary, the conversation discussed the concept of reference frames in relation to the universe. It was established that there is no specific reference frame for the universe as the expansion is happening everywhere. The speaker also clarified that a reference frame is a set of 3D coordinates and can be based on the Earth or oneself. The idea of the universe being relative to anything was also explored, with the conclusion being that it is not relative to anything as it encompasses all that exists. The conversation then shifted to discussing the concept of motion and how it is relative to a reference frame. Finally, the speaker provided a resource for further understanding the expansion of the universe.
jhus96
I'm just beginning physics and teaching myself classical physics from an intro physics textbook and in the 2nd chapter it described reference frames. This got me thinking. My reference frame is the earth, as that is what I use to describe position, displacement, ect. But what is the reference frame for the universe? I'm not even sure if this is a valid question because we don't know if our universe is moving or not; however we know it's expanding, so mustn't this motion of expansion be in some sort of reference frame?

Physics news on Phys.org
There is no "reference frame for the universe". The expansion is not happening from a point, it's happening everywhere.

Also, technically, your reference frame is not the Earth, your reference frame is YOU. You can take some set of coordinates based on the Earth as a reference frame and measure your motion in that reference frame, or you can take yourself as a reference frame and measure the Earth's motion in that frame. For example, when you are walking, the Earth is spinning under you in your reference frame.