What's the most appropriate path?

• Courses
  • Thread starter HyperTechno
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Path
In summary, the local university offers a software engineering degree program that is accredited by IET UK, but it is not a prestigious university. The advantage of the Japanese university is that it is ranked much higher and offers better education. However, the initial costs are higher.
HyperTechno
I'm a student, who's entering the higher education. I'm interested on Software Engineering, Electronic and Electrical Engineering.
I have two opportunities, in selecting a University to secure one of the above degrees.
One is a local university, that offers 4 year degree programs related to above subjects. It's Software engineering degree program is Accredited by IET UK. How ever, the global rank of that university is "6977",which is not so impressive. But the advantage is that I can afford the entire 4 year software engineering course ($ 10000) without doing any part time work. So that I can use most of my time for my studies.

Other is, traveling abroad (in my case Japan) for my higher education. There I get the chance to learn from well recognised universities that are ranked much higher than the previously stated local university. But then, I can only afford the initial costs. I definitely have to do a part time job to pay for the tuition, exams, books, living and my other general needs. Which means the amount of time I get to allocate for my studies is lower. But because of the higher standard of the Japanese education, I lean towards it. Can anyone give me an advice on this matter? What's the most appropriate path for me? Please help! Thanks a lot for even taking your time for reading this.

P.S. - If I enter the local university, I'll most probably be doing software engineering, but if I enter a Japanese university, I'd be willing to do electrical or electronic engineering.

Physics news on Phys.org