What would you do if you were in my situation?

• Thread starter faizlo
  • Start date
In summary, Faizlo is an experienced particle physicist who has not been able to find a job in his field. He is considering getting a Master's or another PhD in Engineering or another field to help him find a job. He is also considering moving to another country.
faizlo
What would you do if you were in my situation!?

Hi all,

This might be a tough question indeed.

I am an international student who came to the US to do his PhD in Experimental Particle Physics, my childhood love and passion.

I have taken part in one of the most important discoveries in particle physics recently, the discovery of the Higgs Boson.

Well, as most newly graduated PhD students or graduating ones, I have been looking for a job as a faculty at any college or university but to no avail. A postdoc is not an option, because statistics show that one needs two to three postdocs to finally land as an assistant professor at some university. I am not young, I am almost 37. Then, not so long ago, the political situation back home is too bad to even think of going back now with my wife and kids (I have 2 kids) and I have been delaying my graduation to the point that I cannot do this again. Even without these troubles, it is still very hard to find a position for a particle physicist back home.
I have not thought about job prospects before I do my PhD, simply I wanted to do what I loved most, research.

I still cannot find a job, and teaching, which I am/was excellent at, I could not demonstrate myself as a good TA in my university because our work needed me to be stationed at the experiment I worked for, and so have always worked as an RA, and so no good recommendations from my department as a good teacher can be achieved!