What would be a good degree to accompany a Physics Major?

In summary, the conversation discussed options for a second major or minor to accompany a major in physics. Suggestions were made for chemistry or computer science, with the reminder that the most successful people often have a background in humanities. Ultimately, the decision should be based on one's interests and goals, whether that be grad school or a career in a related field. It was also advised to consider courses that will benefit rather than just a title.
KonaGorrila
Aloha,
I am majoring in physics but have finished all my requirements outside of the physics field. So I am stuff taking only physics and math and want to become full time.

Does anyone have suggestions on what would be a good second major/minor to accompany physics?

I am thinking chemistry because I am aware that a math minor is only a few classes on top of my physics pathway.

Physics news on Phys.org
People have been successful with just about every combination out there. You will be most successful in a subject you enjoy. If that is chemistry then god speed! Also remember some of the most successful people have a background in humanities. Don't forget them.

KonaGorrila said:
Aloha,
I am majoring in physics but have finished all my requirements outside of the physics field. So I am stuff taking only physics and math and want to become full time.

Does anyone have suggestions on what would be a good second major/minor to accompany physics?

I am thinking chemistry because I am aware that a math minor is only a few classes on top of my physics pathway.