What went wrong with (-x)^2=x^2?

jeff einstein
TL;DR Summary
I have a very basic confusion that supports some basic elements of algebra. Being a high school student my teacher couldn't answer this, hope someone could help here.
I have a very basic confusion that supports some basic elements of algebra. Being a high school student my teacher couldn't answer this, hope someone could help here.

We know this equation is true: (-x)^2=x^2
but once we square root both sides it becomes this: -x=x
we can see this equation was solved using the correct principles of algebra but we know this is false.
What's wrong here?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
jeff einstein said:
we can see this equation was solved using the correct principles of algebra
I don't think that it was. Which principles are these?

##\sqrt{a^2} = |a|## not ##a##

Likes e_jane, SammyS and DaveC426913
jeff einstein said:
The square root of (-x)^2 is not unique; it's -x and x. We choose x because -x is a nonsensical answer (in basic algebra).

so both sides become absolute values of X?

That two numbers have the same square means NOT that they are equal... I think that your problem (and that of your moronic teacher!) is that you don't see the difference between "imply" and "is equivalent to" (bi-directional implication). Let me illustrate the conceptual mistake that you are making with another example: Lenin had a goatee, goats have one too, therefore Lenin was a goat (right?)

• Haha
Likes e_jane
Sir please give respect to my teacher and plus i don't really understand your argument here please explain this with math

Likes Klystron
jeff einstein said:
This equation means, ##(-x) \times (-x)=x \times x##.
There is no way to conclude from
##(-x) \times (-x)=x \times x##
that
##-x=x##,
"using the correct principles of algebra."

Likes Math100 and FactChecker
jeff einstein said:
Being a high school student my teacher couldn't answer this, hope someone could help here.