What Was the Unidentified Running Object I Encountered in My Driveway at Night?

In summary: I have never heard one make any noise, other than the odd "meep" when they are stepped on.In summary, an unidentified running object was seen flying past a person at night. The object was a piece of rag with a hedge hog under it. Another mystery was solved by the fearless ram.
wolram
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
Unidentified running object.

Its 9 o/clock at night and i am just getting into my car, when this
white shape less thing shoots past me, now there is no wind ,as my
first thought was litter blowing around, when the thing started to
wander all over the place at about my walking pace, i had to investigate,
when i caught it and grabed the white thing, it turned out to be a piece of rag with a hedge hog under it.
Another mystery solved by the fearless ram.

Physics news on Phys.org
wolram said:

when i caught it and grabed the white thing, it turned out to be a piece of rag with a hedge hog under it.

Be glad it wasn't a skunk under it .:biggrin:

wolram said:

All hail the fearless ram. :approve:

I am quite fearless now as regards strange events, i mean i still have
the noises, and coins tuning up where they should not.
I am still trying to find a way to trace the noises automatically.
Has anyone an idea PLEASE?

One could do an acoustic analysis with two or more microphones and a timing (time delay) circuit for each pair of transducers.

Acoustic emissions using an array of transducers can be done similar to a phased array radar system. If done right it maps exactly where an noise orginates - location/orientation and range.

Of course, those of us with a limited budget and less regard for sundry creatures than Astro favour carpet-bombing the suspect area. :biggrin:

Astronuc said:
One could do an acoustic analysis with two or more microphones and a timing (time delay) circuit for each pair of transducers.