What to do this summer for a future in engineering?

In summary, the speaker is currently a sophomore physics undergraduate and is hoping to pursue engineering or applied physics after college. They are considering working at Fermilab for another summer or taking an internship at a financial firm, which has better pay. They plan on doing an engineering internship the following summer and are undecided on their career path. They are open to exploring finance as well. The speaker explains that they chose to major in physics at the University of Chicago because they enjoy it and received a good financial aid package. They believe that having a variety of experiences will be beneficial and are considering using their programming experience to help with future engineering applications. They also mention the possibility of looking into accelerator physics at UC to bridge the gap between physics and engineering.
student335
Currently I am a sophomore physics undergrad, and I want to do some type of engineering/applied physics work after college. I'm OK with going to grad school for engineering.

The reason I'm not just majoring in electrical or aerospace engineering in college is because I go to UChicago where we don't offer engineering.

Now for this summer I have basically two options:

1) Continue working in the research group at Fermilab I've been working in since spring of freshman year. This is very hands-on work with electrical, programming, and SolidWorks work.

2) Work an internship at a financial firm where I will be a programmer and analyst and then return to the research position for the following school year. This internship has significantly better pay.

Then next summer (the summer after my junior year) I plan to go into an engineering internship that will hopefully lead to a full time position.