What to do as a Student to Help your career

In summary, it is important to raise your grades, focus on mastering the concepts in your courses, reduce distractions, and intern if possible.
jamalkoiyess
I thought that posting this in career guidance was better since it is more related.

Anyway, I want to know what is it that I can do as a junior in physics and math to aid myself later. I hope to be able to enter a research career in Cosmology. This is the only field where I feel that my interest will never fade away. It led me into doing physics and it is the reason I am still in physics. (not to say I hate other areas of physics, but this one is way more exciting)

I am currently working in a lab in fluid dynamics and turbulence. I know that It is not related but am acquiring some good skills in coding and statistical mechanics.
However, I did try once to work for the cosmology team back when I was a sophomore but they told me that I was not ready yet. I might re-ask them once I finish the project in my current position.

I try to educate myself on the topic even though it has been hard. I am currently reading "The large-scale structure of Space-Time" by Hawking. It is one of the more accessible books, I am just lacking a bit of topology that I am studying now. It is the first one that I am reading on the subject since that I am just now getting better at abstract mathematics. After this one, higher books will be hopefully accessible.

My GPA is not the best, I do try my best and I am looking for ways to try harder (this was included so that maybe I getting into specific programs might help)

What else can I do or stop doing?

Physics news on Phys.org
I assume that you will be starting junior year in the falll. (If you are a senior, there isn’t much time to make corrections.)
The single best thing you can do is:
1) Raise your grades.

Figure out why you are doing poorly and address that.