What skills in C++ do employers value most in the real world?

In summary, employers are primarily looking for skills in C++ for console applications and not GUI development. However, it is beneficial to have a good understanding of object-oriented programming and to be able to quickly implement features in existing code. To improve skills, one can study code from experienced programmers, read books on design patterns, and participate in open source projects. It is also important for a company to have a training plan for employees to further develop their skills.
alligatorman
I have been looking to improve my skills in C++ to make myself marketable for the future. What I'm wondering is what kind of skills employers are looking for.

I'm a pro at creating console applications, but I highly doubt tech companies would be working in that.

For example, I was looking at an entry level job offered by Lockheed Martin, and it said knowledge in C/C++ is desirable.

What do they mean? I should be able to write programs in consoles? I should be able to create GUIs, or create code that works with an existing GUI?

I know in the real world, things are done in teams, so I would not be responsible for everything, but how would I go about preparing for something like that? I know about programming structure and methods and all that stuff. I just don't know how or where an employer would want me to apply it.

Any insight would be appreciated, and please forgive my ignorance.

Technology news on Phys.org
alligatorman said:
I have been looking to improve my skills in C++ to make myself marketable for the future. What I'm wondering is what kind of skills employers are looking for.

I'm a pro at creating console applications, but I highly doubt tech companies would be working in that.

For example, I was looking at an entry level job offered by Lockheed Martin, and it said knowledge in C/C++ is desirable.