What Makes a Mathematician? Exploring the Characteristics of a Pure Math Major

In summary, I think it is important to have a strong motivation for math and to be willing to work extremely hard to achieve success.
curious mind 111
I've asked many... what does it mean to major in math (pure). I am a first year sophomore and still undecided about my major.I used to get full marks on math tests n high school, but how can I know if I'm able to be something in math. Anyone can learn how to do math, but few can actually make math...what characterizes a mathematician?
appreciate your help!

Physics news on Phys.org
I majored in math at the University of Alaska during the 1980's. At the time, however, I had no idea that I am autistic. Not being the common social butterfly, I also had no idea of what to expect from such a cirriculum. I did fine as long as I didn't have to prove anything, even though differential equations is considerably more difficult than calculus; we called it "difficult" equations. But as it was, I simply took it a day at a time without knowing what to expect the next day, or in the next class. Then in my senior year, the theory came, and I was completely turned off. They take away the skill that you have, and make you prove what you know, beginning with basic math. If you become a teacher, you have to be able to show students why one is greater than zero. You have to be able to show, on paper, why 1+1=2, and so on and so forth, right on through to the calculus theorems.

If you're on an engineering team that's building bridges, for example, you have to be able to show why the math is valid, and if not, then why not. It simply was not my cup of tea.