What is Zeno's paradox and can it be resolved?

• Thread starter Tenenbaum
  • Start date
  • Tags
In summary: I can stroll across the street because it's about twenty feet distance. That's finite. The idea that we can divide the distance infinitely (at least mathematically) has nothing to do with actually crossing the physical distance because I'm not being divided (or shrunk down) infinitely. The street isn't being divided. Nor is the sidewalk. These dimensions are set and stable.In summary, the paradox is a mathematical situation that isn't physically real, and infinite series can be summed.
Tenenbaum
No matter how close you ever think you are, there is always a infinite distance between.

Why is it wrong?
Why is it right?

I have no experience in physics, but I feel you guys could answer better then anyone else.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
That's Zeno's paradox. It breaks down on the atomic level.
You get half-way to your girlfriend, then half of that distance, then half of the remainder, and so on. So you never actually get there... but you can get close enough for all practical purposes. :biggrin:

two reasons the above girl friend scenario will not apply!

Dolly Parton !

Ranger Mike said:
Dolly Parton !

Please don't double-post... :rolleyes:

... I suddenly feel the urge for experimentation ...

Danger said:
That's Zeno's paradox. It breaks down on the atomic level.
You get half-way to your girlfriend, then half of that distance, then half of the remainder, and so on. So you never actually get there... but you can get close enough for all practical purposes. :biggrin:

Yeah, but assuming constant speed, it also takes you half as long to go through each step, so you end up doing an infinite amount of those half-step moves in a finite amount of time.