What Is the Typical Energy Efficiency of a Neutron Source?

In summary: That is not a "DIY neutron source".The main types of neutron sources are isotopic (usually SF from Cf-252), nuclear reaction like (alpha,n), fusion (usually D-T or D-D), fisson reactors or spallation of neutrons from a charged particle beam hitting a target.There are many types of neutron generators, but they are all very energy inefficient. A neutron source emits neutrons which are not easy to Shield. Typically large thicknesses Water, Borated Concrete, or paraffin are used since they have to be thermalized before they can be absorbed.
zephramcochran
Hi All,

I have a basic question. I am still new to nuclear engineering so this maybe a stupid question, but what is the typical energy efficiency of a neutron source? (I.E. power of neutrons emitted/power input for neutron generation)

I recognize that the efficiency can depend on the neutron flux, especially since the power loss does not scale linearly with the neutron flux, but what is the typical energy efficiency of a neutron source with a particle flux of 1E14 to 1E15 neutrons per square cm?

Finally, how are these neutrons generated if controlled materials (like U-235 or Pu-239) aren't used? (like photoneutrons, neutrons from deuterium fusion, etc.)

I'm interested because I want to try using a DIY neutron source to store electrical energy by transmuting Th-232 into U-233 and then burning that U-233 in a pile.

Engineering news on Phys.org
The main types of neutron sources are isotopic (usually SF from Cf-252), nuclear reaction like (alpha,n), fusion (usually D-T or D-D), fisson reactors or spallation of neutrons from a charged particle beam hitting a target.

zephramcochran said:
I'm interested because I want to try using a DIY neutron source to store electrical energy by transmuting Th-232 into U-233 and then burning that U-233 in a pile.