What is the Sum of an Arithmetic Sequence?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of arithmetic series and its relation to arithmetic sequences. The formula for finding the sum of an arithmetic series is derived and used to find the sum of the first four and first 100 terms in the given sequence. The distinction between an arithmetic series and an arithmetic sequence is clarified.
karush
Gold Member
MHB
I am new to this topic so...

Let $S_n$ be the sum of the first $n$ terms of the arithmetic series $2+4+6+...$

this one looks simple $S_n=2+2n$

Find $S_4$ and $S_{100}$

$S_4=2+2(4)=9$
$S_100=2+2(100)=202$

is arithmetic series and arithmetic sequence the same thing?:cool:

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Re: simple arthmetic series

Series is sum of elements

Suppose that

\(\displaystyle S_n = 1+2+3+ \cdots +n =\frac{n(n+1)}{2}\) (1)

$S_n$ is the sum of the nth elements . So for example $S_4 = 1+2+3+4 = 10$

$S_n$ itself contains a sequence of elements because for each index $n$ we can find
$S$ .

Notice that your series is (1) multiplied by 2 .

ZaidAlyafey said:
Series is sum of elements

Suppose that

\(\displaystyle S_n = 1+2+3+ \cdots +n =\frac{n(n+1)}{2}\) (1)

$S_n$ is the sum of the nth elements . So for example $S_4 = 1+2+3+4 = 10$

$S_n$ itself contains a sequence of elements because for each index $n$ we can find
$S$ .

Notice that your series is (1) multiplied by 2 .

I see so I found the nth term not the sum of the terms..

You have got some mistakes because that doesn't even find the nth elements that should be

\(\displaystyle S_k = \sum_{n=1}^{k}a_n= 2+4+6+\cdots+k \)

Now you can write $a_n = 2n$

Last edited:

$\displaystyle S_4 = \sum_{n=1}^{4}(2n+2)= 28$

but I thot $2+4+6+8=20$

Last edited:

karush said:
$\displaystyle S_4 = \sum_{n=1}^{4}(2n+2)= 28$

but I thot $2+4+6+8=20$

Yes, that should be $a_n = 2n$

karush said:

Let $S_n$ be the sum of the first $n$ terms of the arithmetic series $2+4+6+...$

Find $S_4$ and $S_{100}$