What is the Meaning of dx in Definite and Indefinite Integrals?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of integration, specifically the use of dx in definite and indefinite integrals. It also explores the proof of the integration by parts formula and the use of substitution to solve integration problems. It is clarified that dx does not represent a multiplication, but rather a change in x.
Shing
I am studying 'Integration'
These are the questions I have been thinking of, but i still did not get it.

1.I understood the basic concept of dx and dy
But I don't know what exactly does dx stand for in the definite and indefinite Integrals.
[tex]\int x^3\, dx\right)[/tex]2. I have read a proof in book about integration product
[tex]y = u*v [/tex]
[tex]dy = du*v + u*dv[/tex]
[tex]\int\, dy\right = \int v\, du\right + \int u\, dv\right[/tex]
[tex]\int u\, dv\right = uv - \int v\, du\right[/tex]I think it might be not serious enought.
- Why is it without dy? I think it should be [tex]dy/dx = v*du/dx+u*dv/dx[/tex] first.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I like to explain integrals in this manner - you know from your differential calculus class that [tex]\lim_{\Delta x \to 0} \Delta x = dx[/tex]. Basically its a really really tiny change in the x value.

Now If we had a graph, of say x^3. We graph a section, and cut out a rectangle. The rectangles width will be [itex]\Delta x[/itex] and height will be x^3. But we want an infinitely thin strip so that when we add the strips up, the area is exact. To get an infinitely thin strip, we take the limit of the width to zero, making the width dx.

So for every strip, the height is x^3, the width is dx, and the integral sign means add them all up.

For indefinite integrals it just shows what you find the anti derivative with respect to. Eg [itex]\int kx dx[/itex] That tells me k is some constant and I do the integration to the x. If it were a dk, other way around.