What is the electromagnetic field?

In summary: This is how light is able to travel through the universe. The waves vibrate through the vacuum and carry the light waves away.In summary, the electromagnetic field is what creates the electric and magnetic fields that we see around us. It exists within a vacuum, and is generated by charged particles.
bendavis78
What is "the" electromagnetic field?

I'm not a professional scientist, just a software engineer with a fascination for how our world works. I thought I'd plug into some of the smart minds here to see if I could make some sense of some things I'm not quite understanding.

I've been reading Hawking's "Grand Design", and have become fascinated with the famous double-slit experiment. I understand this experiment is sort of a kick-off point for quantum mechanics. So, I wanted to understand the nature of light, specifically the wave model. From what I understand, a wave travels through a medium (eg, sound waves through air), so when I looked for what medium light waves travel through, I get a lot of references to "The electromagnetic field".

This is where I get confused. My current understanding of electromagnetic fields is that they are generated by particles of matter (eg, the magnetic field of the earth). So what to people mean when they say THE magnetic field? Is there a single, grand magnetic field that spans throughout the universe? I imagine there must be, otherwise we wouldn't see the light from distant stars, right? But then how does this field exist within a vacuum where there is no matter?

Physics news on Phys.org

A field is, by definition, defined at all points in space. So, if you want, think about the electromagnetic field existing everywhere. However, if there are no charged particles around, then the field value is just 0.