Project on pulsars/electromagnetic quantum field

In summary: If you want to focus on pulsars and the electromagnetic fields they generate, then you should study QED. However, there is no need to be intimidated by QM; you only need to be familiar with the basic concepts.
Lisastronomy
TL;DR Summary
I am a high school student doing a project on pulsars and I would love to get into the deeper workings of a quantum electromagnetic field, but I am a bit lost.
Hello,

I am a high school student doing a project on pulsars and I would love to get into the deeper workings of a quantum electromagnetic field, but I am a bit lost. Since pulsars are neutron stars, who send out a beam of electromagnetic waves, I was quite curious about it's workings.

So, what I know by now is that because of the strong accelaration of electric charge particles, an electromagnetic wave is send out, which is in the form of a photon (This because there is this disturbance). Now, I read some things about the quantisation of an electromagnetic field and the harmonic oscillator, but since I know barely nothing about QM, it seems a bit vague to me.

Now, surely I wouldn't mind getting into these topics and putting a lot of time in it, but if they have nothing to do with pulsars and the working of the electromagnetic fields, it would be a waste of time. For now, when I read some pages on it, some words and formulas still seem to be a bit new to me and I don't really know what they mean. So my question therefore is: "Why do accelerating electric charges really produce an electromagnetic wave and how can this be in the form of a photon?"

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes vanhees71 and Delta2
Physics news on Phys.org
What math have you had so far in high school? Have you learned any Calculus yet?