What is the determinant of a matrix?

In summary: This is wayy above my level of understanding. I only just learned how to do an integral like a month ago lol. In summary, a determinant is an operator that maps a square matrix to a number. Sometimes this class of operator is called a "functional". The number sorta-kinda roughly corresponds to what might be considered a "magnitude" of the matrix. The determinant is the ratio of the "volumes" of a "unit box" before and after the transformation.
KingKai
Okay so I'm a first year engineering student and I'm taking linear algebra.

I understand how to take determinants of nxn matrices, and I know how to do co-factor expansion. But I still don't understand what a determinant is.

I don't like learning algorithms on how to do certain things in math without knowing why it works. I hope someone can answer the "Why?" question for me.

To keep is simple as possible: What the hell is a determinant?

Physics news on Phys.org
best to read about it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Determinant

or in your textbook.

the determinant is an operator that maps a square matrix to a number. sometimes this class of operator is called a "functional". this number sorta-kinda roughly corresponds to what might be considered a "magnitude" of the matrix. sort of like the length of a vector, but this magnitude is raised to the nth power where n is the number of rows or columns of the square matrix.

Hi KingKai! :smile:

It's how much larger the coordinate system is.

The matrix transforms from one set of coordinates to another.

The determinant is the ratio of the "volumes" of a "unit box" before and after the transformation.

(and if you're doing an integral, eg ∫∫∫∫ f(w,x,y,z) dwdxdydz, once you've transformed the function and the limits, you also have to multiply by the determinant of the "Jacobian" matrix)

tiny-tim said:

The determinant is the ratio of the "volumes" of a "unit box" before and after the transformation.