What is the density of a constant? (spring constant)

In summary, the author is discussing the use of Young's modulus as a spring constant and how it can be used to determine the center of rotation for teeth.
zazi77
Hi, I could you explain me what is the density of a constant (particurarly the spring constant, or should I say "stiffness" constant)? I guess it's a probabilty function but would like more details. I would like an answer that at first describe the concept and later refine the mathematical explanation . Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Can you post a couple links to where you have seen this?

I'm reading this paper written by an engineer(I'm a dentist passionate with biomechanics). From theorem of reciprocal synatrosis a theory of tooth movement has been derived (a constant of center of rotation based on stress distribution function of periodontal ligament). I can understand the calcultions more or less, but I'm curious about this density because I could
Schermata 2019-08-05 alle 18.42.59.png
find no explanation about it.

I guess the concept is more or less this one. In the first part of the paper an intervertbral disk is considered. It can be assumed to be a spring and each infinite element is a small spring . These little springs can be distributed in some ways, so that is it possible to define a "density". Moreover it also depends on the kind on model of disk (continuity, discontinuity). If you can explain me these concepts and link me something to study (for someone approaching the subject) it would be great.

Hi @zazi77
Here is a brief consideration on using Young's modulus as a spring constant, which is what the article is doing.
https://ccrma.stanford.edu/~jos/pasp/Young_s_Modulus_Spring_Constant.html
Note that F/S is pressure, where S is an area.
If you move S to the right hand side you have ΔL [ the dy ] times Y ( Young's Modulus ) / L( length) times S(area)