What is the correct function f(x) to use for this limit?

The correct function is f(x) = 1/(3√x-9).In summary, the conversation is about solving a limit question involving a function and using substitution to simplify the equation. The person tried using a function but it was not the correct one. The correct function is f(x) = 1/(3√x-9).
subasurf
Hi guys, I'm really new to calculus and limits and have been trying to have a good crack at the following question. Sorry if I haven't written the problem out in the most acceptable format.

lim (9-3√x)/(9-x)
x→9

Substituting 9 gives you 0/0 and indeterminate.

I tried multiplying the numerator and denominator by (-9+3√x), and multiplied out the brackets to wind up with -81/-27 and then simplified down to - 3/1

I'm just not sure if I'm going about this the correct way. I don't necessarily want the answer, just a bit of guidance. Thanks guys.

Physics news on Phys.org
subasurf said:
I tried multiplying the numerator and denominator by (-9+3√x), and multiplied out the brackets to wind up with -81/-27 and then simplified down to - 3/1

There is some function f(x) that you can multiply numerator and denominator with, with the property that (9-3√x)f(x) = 9-x, but the function you are suggesting above is not it.

Related to What is the correct function f(x) to use for this limit?

1. What is a limit with square roots?

A limit with square roots is a mathematical concept that describes the behavior of a function as the input gets closer and closer to a specific value, typically represented by the variable x. It is denoted by the notation "lim x→a f(x)", where "f(x)" is the function and "a" is the specific value that the input is approaching.

2. How do you evaluate a limit with square roots?