What is the average speed for this lap?

In summary, the Canadian Grand Prix Auto race has a total distance of 304.3km and 69 laps around the track. The fastest lap time was 84.12s. To find the average speed for this lap, we use the equation speed_{avg} = \Delta distance / \Delta time. The delta time is known, so we need to calculate the delta distance of one lap. This can be found by dividing the total distance by the number of laps. In this case, the distance of one lap is 4.410 km or 4410 m. We can also see this concept in action through examples, such as running a 1 km race in four laps or rapping a 1 meter/3
Janelle
ok, i am new at physics, so please no one make fun of me for my stupid questions. Ok here is the questions
In the Canadian Grand Prix Auto race, the drivers travel a total distance of 304.3km in the 69 laps around the track. If the fastest lap time was 84.12s, what is the average speed for this lap? express your answer in metres pers second and kilometres per hour.
Please someone help me, i have a test and i need some serious help!:confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
You probably have an equation in your book or from your instructor that says [itex]speed_{avg} = \Delta distance / \Delta time[/itex]. You know the delta time for the lap, all you need is the distance of one lap. You can calculate that from the information in the problem statement.

do i have to change the 304.3km to metres?? and then do i divide that by 69 laps??

do you have msn or something so i can talk to you easier hotvette??

Yep. If you ran a 1 km race around a circular track and it took 4 laps to do so, what is the distance around the track?

i don't understand what you are talking about. did you not just say the track was 1km?? i don't understand

hotvette said:
Yep. If you ran a 1 km race around a circular track and it took 4 laps to do so, what is the distance around the track?

You ran 1km in four laps.

How many km per laps are there.

[tex] \frac {1km} {4 laps} [/tex]