What is Considered Normal for a Postdoc in Spain?

• Thread starter mam121
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Postdoc
In summary: I came to the realization pretty quickly that this wasn't going to work, so I made the decision to quit and move back to the US. I do feel like I've been pretty productive though, given my situation. In summary, my bosses are trying to terminate my contract a year early, since I have not published anything (given 8 talks and attended 3 teleconferences, though), and the PhD student whose dissertation they assigned me to direct quit. I've been dealing with constant checks on my whereabouts also, since they say I absolutely have to be in the office during Spanish business hours, rather than getting here early and leaving early. That aside, they have never commented on/helped me with
mam121
I am a postdoc in Spain, ending my first year of research. My bosses are currently trying to terminate my contract a year early, since (a) I haven't published anything (given 8 talks and attended 3 teleconferences, though), and (b) the PhD student whose dissertation they assigned me to direct quit. I've been dealing with constant checks on my whereabouts also, since they say I absolutely have to be in the office during Spanish business hours, rather than getting here early and leaving early. That aside, they have never commented on/helped me with my work. Is this normal? If not, what is it normally like to work as a postdoc? What is considered normal productivity/working hours?

Physics news on Phys.org
You aren't really serious about not getting anything published in a full year of work as a independent researcher? Because that is really bad in my opinion. I believe that more senior researchers could tell you how it really is in a better way though.

Why did the Phd-student quit? Was it your fault? Could it be perceived as your fault?