What does it takes to be a physicist compared to an engineer?

In summary, I am a High school student in Ontario Canada, and I am currently completing my final year in High school. Recently I received acceptance to University of Toronto Mathematical and Physical sciences along with their prestigious engineering science program. My parents, though not forcing me to go to engineering science, say that it will open up more opportunities for me. The engineering science program ranked 13th best in the world, in terms of engineering. Truth be told, I love physics, much more than I like engineering. I even like pure math. I am hardworking, able to achieve 98 percent high school average, but know that high school marks really do not mean that much, in terms of reflecting one’s ability to do well in university.
John H