What does an engineer even do?

In summary, an engineer is someone who does technical work, or has a degree in engineering. There are many different types of engineers, and the career outlook is not always great.
mchlmpls
What does an engineer even do?

So I have a problem that I know has to walk through this forum consistently. Basically, I really enjoy my math and physics classes (current experience: calc1-calc3, classical physics 1 and 2). I also really like designing and building things (go FIRST Robotics!). I chose to major in ME, with the intent to double major with EE and become a designer and builder of intelligent machinery or electro mechanical things in the world around us.

Then my principal talked to me about my love for math and physics and got me convinced that majoring in physics was a good idea, so I changed my major on one of my applications to physics.

So I am now majoring in ME on 2 of my applications, math on 1 application, and physics on the final one. The plan is to double major in ME + EE or math + physics. Problem is, I've since became aware that physics and math majors apparently have bleak career outlooks in terms of both rewarding work (as in, physics and math purely for the sake of physics and math) and apparently it isn't quite as easy to go from physics to engineering as I was told because you don't gain any design ability as a physics student.