What courses should I pursue? (for quantum computing)

In summary, I am a middle-school student and I have just recently finished a course in Honors Physics and have already started one on AP Calculus. I have been reading quite a few books on quantum physics. I just recently started one on quantum computing and it is very interesting. Interesting enough I might want to pursue quantum physics and quantum computing as a career.
lekh2003
Gold Member
I am a middle-school student and I have just recently finished a course in Honors Physics and have already started one on AP Calculus. I have been reading quite a few books on quantum physics. I just recently started one on quantum computing and it is very interesting. Interesting enough I might want to pursue quantum physics and quantum computing as a career.

I wish to learn a coding platform of some sort which could help me in quantum computing or data sciences. I have looked around and found a few which could come in handy. I saw Matlab, Mathematica, Python, C++ and a few more. Which language should I first start learning.

I was thinking about Python first, but what advice does anybody have?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think it matters much which programming language you start with, but Python is a good choice.

DrClaude said:
I don't think it matters much which programming language you start with, but Python is a good choice.
Thanks, I was probably going to start with that anyways.

Quantum computing is ultra niche and speculative, I wouldn't think of it necessarily as an intended career track; instead, I'd pursue either computer science/physics or electrical engineering/physics basics and make up your mind later.

Crass_Oscillator said:
Quantum computing is ultra niche and speculative
If you take quantum computing more broadly, including quantum information processing and quantum cryptography, then I disagree.

DrClaude said: