What counts as engineering in the psychology field?

• Thread starter twinkletoes
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineer
In summary, the conversation revolved around the legitimacy of a degree in "psychoanalytical engineering" and whether it can be considered as a real engineering degree. One person argued that since psychology majors have to take a test to be registered, it should be considered as a form of engineering. However, others disagreed and pointed out that being an engineer requires a certain level of knowledge and expertise in the natural sciences and economics. The term "psychoanalytical engineering" was also questioned as being just a label and not an accurate representation of the profession. Ultimately, it was concluded that the term "engineer" should not be used loosely and should only be reserved for those who have the necessary qualifications and skills.
twinkletoes
I am currently studying for a degree offered by the psychology department at my uni. The name of the degree involves 'psychoanalytical engineering'.

i have a friend that is a civil engineering major who keeps telling me that it isn't a real engineering degree.

it seems sort of stupid that he can say that, considering that psychology majors have to take a test to be registered and civil engineers don't have to.

it makes sense that you are engineering someone's thoughts, their emotions. when you build a bridge you are simply building. the engineering means that you have to design something that is just custom tailored to the paritcular person not just putting another bridge down on a river. every persons psyche is original and it's more of a challenge to have to deal with something as complicated as the human mind than build a bridge or building which is something theyve been doing since the time of jesus/evolution without any single problem.

how many buildings/roads do you see, and then how many messed up people do you see who have their minds fixed?