Mechanical Engineering (BS) Vs. Pursuing Physics PhD

In summary: Should I stay in physics and pursue a ME degree? Or should I switch to engineering and try to get into a PhD program?In summary, an undergraduate sophomore is considering pursuing a mechanical engineering degree or a PhD in physics. After transferring from community college to University, he realized that he would need to retake many AP courses at a higher price, and chose to attend community college for two years to save money. He later changed his major to physics and is currently doing research with a solid state physicist. He is questioning whether or not to pursue a ME degree or switch to engineering to pursue a PhD.
Ethan Klein
Hello everyone. Currently, I am an undergraduate sophomore planning to study physics and in the process of transferring from community college to University. I am seeking advice on deciding between pursuing a mechanical engineering degree (BS) or a PhD in physics. My journey so far has taken many turns. But to understand my present dilemma, I must first give some background...

NOTE: I know this post is long. I don't want that to discourage anyone from not reading/not posting, so if you desire, you can jump to the dilemma section below. I do however, suggest you read the background.A Brief Personal Overview
1.) I went to a very competitive high school that was ranked highly in STEM. It was there that I became inspired by math, physics and chemistry. In my sophomore chemistry class, I decided to combine my love for STEM and clean energy and pursue battery science (and I chose chemistry as my major at the time).
2.) I was slated to attend UC Santa Barbara, but after learning that I would have to retake many of the college level AP courses I excelled in during high school at the cost of $3,000 per college course, I felt that this was money not well spent. Thus, I opted to attend community college for the first two years, saving me a lot of money and future student debt.