What area of EE would this fall under?

In summary, the speaker is a second year EE student who needs to choose a specialization for their career. They have enjoyed a course on Digital System Design where they learned how to program an FPGA using VHDL and created a Morse code generator/receiver as their project. They are interested in pursuing this area and are curious about potential career opportunities, which could include computer engineering, hardware design, and embedded systems.
Enrickey
I'm in my second year of EE at my university right now, and I'm going to have to pick what I want to specialize in. That means I should now have some sort of idea of what I actually want to do once I graduate.

The class that I've enjoyed the most thus far has got to be one called Digital System Design where we essentially learn how to program an FPGA using VHDL. The semester's project was to create a Morse code generator/receiver.

Compared to everything else I've done so far, this is the one area that's really been able to grab my attention. Also, I seem to be having a far easier time figuring things out than the rest of my classmates.

The thing is that this course is obviously at a very basic level. If I were to continue taking courses in this area, what sort of career can I eventually expect? Exactly what kind of jobs actually use things like this?

Physics news on Phys.org
Enrickey said:
If I were to continue taking courses in this area, what sort of career can I eventually expect? Exactly what kind of jobs actually use things like this?
Basically, you'd be going down the path of a computer engineer. You'd be specializing in digital integrated circuits, which means lots of courses on device physics (semi-conductors), electronics, switching systems, and the like. Related jobs are in hardware design (video cards, sound cards, processors), embedded systems, and the like.

Related to What area of EE would this fall under?

What area of EE would this fall under?