What are the topics in theoretical and mathematical physics?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore at a Japanese university studying general physics, linear algebra, and analysis. They have also self-studied basics of distributions, Hilbert spaces, Lebesgue integration, local form of Maxwell’s equations, and calculus of variations. They are interested in high energy physics, specifically particle and astroparticle physics, as well as mathematical analysis. They are looking for guidance on finding a suitable research topic and are interested in becoming a theoretical physicist in the future. They are passionate about understanding the universe and contributing to academia.
Eslam100
I'm a rising physics sophomore at a Japanese university. I've studied general physics, linear algebra, and analysis (actually, calculus of single and several variables with emphasis on analysis, everything was proven and the theoretical background was well explained)
Other than that, I've self-studied the very basics of distributions, Hilbert spaces, Lebesgue integration, local form of Maxwell’s equations, and calculus of variations. not rigorous though I'm interested in fields, high energy physics(specially, particle and astroparticle physics) and mathematical analysis.

I'd like to work on something that is suitable for my level. I'm also fine with self-studying other subjects to reduce the gap to a certain interesting research topic.

Can someone help me with that?

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you give us an idea of your interests?

Where do you hope to be in 5 or 10 years?

Do you plan to practice as a mathematician or as an experimental or theoretical physicist?