What Are the Potential Applications of Graph Theory in Astrophysics?

In summary: Astrophysics with a degree in Computer Science ? Yes, you can definitely cross over into Astrophysics with a degree in Computer Science.
ratking82
Hi all,

This is my first post to this forum, so allow me to introduce myself. I am a 28 year old person who is about to start a Phd in Machine learning with focus on graph theory. Now from my preliminary research, it seems that theory developed has a lot of use in computational biology, computational genetics etc. What I am interested in impact of graph theory in Astrophysics ? Can I shift to research in Astrophysics with a degree in Computer Science ?

Finally, does it really matter which university I did my Phd in ? Finally, would it better, or advisable to start a undergrad(postgrad/phd ?) degree in Physics at this point in my career.

PS: I am in Indian in Europe, so lot of places of funding is blocked for me :)

Physics news on Phys.org
ratking82 said:
This is my first post to this forum, so allow me to introduce myself. I am a 28 year old person who is about to start a Phd in Machine learning with focus on graph theory. Now from my preliminary research, it seems that theory developed has a lot of use in computational biology, computational genetics etc.

Yes, there is. I think that this field is only going to get much bigger as well. We're at a topical time for graph theory in biology - it remains to be seen how successful it is actually going to be. We should know in a few years, so your PhD will be timely if nothing else!

ratking82 said:
What I am interested in impact of graph theory in Astrophysics ? Can I shift to research in Astrophysics with a degree in Computer Science ?

I suppose at a stretch you could look for computing jobs in physics departments. I have worked in physics departments where they have programmers working on physics problems, that didn't really have any physics background. I certainly wouldn't count on it.