What Are the Essential Physics Concepts for Beginners in Competitions?

In summary, you need to learn calculus, and basic mathematical models of the physical universe. Once you have these, you can start tackling more complex problems.
glen37
I'm currently a high school student and I'm looking forward to doing the physics olympiad and physics bowl and perhaps becoming a physicist myself. One problem I have is whenever I attempt some problems I have no idea what to do because I haven't had enough physics exposure. What do I need to know so I can be prepared to solve all the basic problems and use the skills I gain through those to work on higher level problems?

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you in a physics course now? If not, you will need to self-study if you do not want to wait until you take a formal course.

Traditionally, physics study starts with kinematics (motion) and basic mechanics (Newton's laws, impulse/momentum, work/energy) and gravity/projectiles. Then basic waves (physical waves and electromagnetism). Usually thermodynamics (heat) gets tossed in there somewhere, and leftover time gets used for extension of the already covered topics, or a 'survey' of more advanced and popular topics ("modern physics").

calculus
conservation laws
'thinking physics' by Lewis Carrol Epstein
flux lines

If you've got a good background in calculus then the Feynman Lectures are are good place to start. Even just skimming through the individual volumes reveals a lot of interesting information.

1) A body will remain in a constant state of motion unless acted upon by a force.
2) The effect of a force is to change a body's momentum with respect to time.
3) On a pair of interacting bodies, for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.