What are the Adavantages of High Amperage?

• Thread starter Pharrahnox
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Amperage
In summary, having high amperage is advantageous in certain situations such as electronic welding, where low voltage and high current are necessary for safety and effectiveness. In other industries, such as electrochemical processes and magnetic field generation, high amperage is also important for control and functionality. However, for transmitting energy, high amperage is not ideal due to the joule effect. The main advantage of high amperage is the ability to use lower voltages, which can be safer and more practical in certain applications.
Pharrahnox
What are the advantages of having high amperage? By the way, I'm rather new to electronics.

I know that having high-voltage reduces the energy loss through the wire, and you don't need as thick a wire. But I cannot find the advantages of high amperage on the internet. This may be due to my bad wording of the question, or due to my lack of knowledge on the subject, however I still would like to know.

Thanks for any help, in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
One example of where it is advantageous (a necessity really) to have high current (and very low voltage) is in electronic welding.

It would be very dangerous to provide welding-level power using very much voltage, so typically (as I recall) welding is done with 3 volts and hundreds of amps.

High currents are usually needed to provide high amounts of power to something. I don't really know if there's an "advantage" or not. I always thought of current as simply the consequence of your voltage and resistance.

Thanks for the fast replies.

Why is it dangerous to have high voltage in electronic welding? Is it so that the arc cannot travel far, or doesn't want to go through your body?