What are some helpful resources for learning about Polymer NanoComposites?

• Thread starter System Engineer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Polymer
In summary, the speaker is a PhD student in nanoscience and technology in South Korea, but lacks background knowledge in polymers. They are looking for materials to help them learn the basics and have received recommendations for papers and books on polymer nanocomposites.
System Engineer
Dear Members

Greetings. I joined this forum today. I have done my BE(Electrcial) followed by MS(Telecommunications) and a 9 months Course on Systems Enginering from UK. Presently i am in South Korea on a Scholarship for my PhD in Nanoscience and Tech (Here is the problem).

I have no background what so ever in Materails, specilay in polymers where as my Prof has a PhD in Polymer Synthesis.

Now my Question may seem stupid but i have to get everything from basics. I am looking for any kind of Material to help me learn the basics of polymers, nanocomposites. What i hope to do is to get my hands on some really good material which can get me started in the field of Polymer/Nano Composites.

Any help and ideas. I ll be thankfull

Regards
Ess ESS

Engineering news on Phys.org
U can read papers like
1. Polyhedral Oligomeric Silsesquioxane Nanocomposites: The NextGeneration Material for
Biomedical ApplicationsRUBEN Y. KANNAN,† HENRYK J. SALACINSKI,†PETER E. BUTLER,‡ ANDALEXANDER M. SEIFALIAN*,†

2. Book : POlymer Nanocomposite-Edited by - Yiu WIng Mai & Zhong-Zhen-Yu

BOOK :

Progress in polymer nanocomposite research.

Ed. by Sabu Thomas and Gennady E. Zaikov.

Nova Science Publishers

I was in a workshop by Ray Pearson, which is a really experienced person in polymer nanocomposites, and he recommended us this book:

'Introduction to nanocomposite materials: properties, processing and characterization'

by Thomas E. Twardowski, DESTech Publications, Inc. 2007 ISBN 978-1-932078-54-1

Hope it help you!