What are my chances, help me choose a safe school

In summary, the individual is an international student from Peru looking to pursue a second bachelor's degree in computer science in the United States. They have a 4.0 GPA and good recommendation letters, but no interesting extracurricular activities and bad high school grades. They plan to apply to several universities and are unsure if they have a chance of getting in. They have considered a conversion course, but prefer to pursue a second bachelor's degree to gain more knowledge. They also do not qualify for a scholarship in the UK due to lack of work experience.
piyowashere
Hi, i am an international student from Peru and i want to get a second bachelors degree in united states.
My first bachelor is industrial engieering (i hate it), i am applying for computer science.
I have a 4.0 gpa equivalent and in the top 5% in my college, and some good recommendation letters. no interesting extra currircular activies, some work experience, really bad essays. bad high school grades. I am taking the TOEFL next week, and i am sure i will get a score of 90-100 range
so far i am going to apply to this universities:
Texas Austin
Illinois at urbana champaign
Maryland
University of Wisconsin Madison
Purdue
University of Minnesota twin cities

do i have a shot at getting into any of them?
should i apply to a lower ranked school?
(btw i am applying as a transfer student, and i am sure those unis allow second bachelors)

Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited:
The OP was interested in a BS in CS in the USA. I'm not sure that a program that offers a scholarship for a different degree with a different major in a different country is as applicable as it might be.

Thanks for that info, i have considered the conversion course, but i don't think it will give me enough knowledge, its only 1 year long!