What Are Innovative Astronomy Research Topics for Freshman Students?

In summary, for your research paper on a topic in astronomy, you can consider exploring the impact of space weather on Earth's atmosphere, the search for exoplanets, the role of dark matter in galaxy formation, the effects of gravitational lensing, and the relationship between the age of a star and the presence of exoplanets. These are just a few potential topics, and you are free to choose any other topic that interests you. Best of luck with your research!
EllaM
I'm a freshman taking an intro to astronomy course. I was assigned a research paper on a topic in astronomy. I have to analyze a data set. Can i please have some ideas for topics? These are some examples:  What is the relationship between the mass of a black hole’s singularity and the distance of the event horizon?
 How does Pluto’s size, composition, and orbit compare to that of other dwarf planets in the Kuiper belt?
 What is the relationship between a planet’s orbital velocity and its ability to alter the directional path and speed of “flybys” (gravitational slingshot)?
 What is the relationship between axial tilt, diameter, and rotational period of a planet and the variance of its average annual surface temperature?
 How does solar activity affect Earth’s temperature patterns?
 How do changing seasons during a Jovian planet’s orbit affect its visible cloud bands?
 What is the relationship between the change in intensity of coronal mass injections and the amount of times that visible aurora borealis occur?
 What is the relationship between the change in global temperature and the consumption and flaring of fossil fuels?
 Using a planetary data set and a computer model that calculates aphelion and perihelion of Earth at various degrees of eccentricity, what is the relationship between the eccentricity of a planet’s orbit and the angular size of the star in that planet’s sky over the course of the planet’s orbital period?