What are Government research jobs like in physics?

In summary: Citizenship. I'm not sure how common that is, but it is definitely an option. Just make sure you research the specifics of the position you are applying for.
Grognak16
I am going to be a college freshmen majoring in physics and am trying to learn about all of the different options I have in the future. I can't seem to find any good information about what government research jobs in physics are like. What does a day look like as a government researcher? Are the jobs hard to get? How do they pay and is there security? What does it take to work in a government lab?

Thanks for any input as I can't find anything else out there.

Likes atyy
Physics news on Phys.org
Which government? People from PF come from all over the world.

Good point. I should've mentioned that I am talking about the United States

I'm an engineer at a US National Lab. I do a lot of projects with the physicsts here.

What does a day look like as a government researcher?

Like any creative job it varies so much it is difficult to describe a typical day. It is very much like being a professor except you don't teach (although you do supervise students) and so you do more hands-on work. But it can vary from setting up experiments to writing code to writing grant applications and papers. As you progress you do more supervision and grant hunting and less lab work.

Are the jobs hard to get?

Yes. It is as difficult to get a staff position at a National Lab as it is to be a tenure-track professor at a research university. It is much easier to get postdocs and Project Scientist (non-tenure track) jobs, just like it is at a University. It can be done, obviously, but Physics is in decline at my lab (and in the DOE in general).

How do they pay and is there security?