Website for self-learning purpose needed

In summary: If you're truly interested in physics, you'll want to immerse yourself in the content and find a teacher to help guide you along.
scilover89
Your guys physics knowledge is so awesome! I am a secondary student, and I wish to learn more about physic. Can anyone suggest a website to me?

Physics news on Phys.org
If you actually would want to learn physics in-depth, there really is no alternative from using textbooks.

arildno said:
If you actually would want to learn physics in-depth, there really is no alternative from using textbooks.

Could you suggest any textbooks then?

:redface:

I highly recommend http://ocw.mit.edu" . I believe there are video lectures of MIT's equivalents of Physics 101 and 102, plus there are a lot other useful resources. Check it out!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi scilover89,

I found this website interesting: http://www.colorado.edu/physics/2000/index.pl
It has some java-applets.

Also it may be interesting, how application of physics looks like in our daily life:
http://www.howstuffworks.com/

As for books: Don't buy them immediately! If possible, first have a look at them in the library. Books are very expensive :frown:
Have a look at Tipler, Halliday Resnick.

If you start studying physics, this article gives you some tips:
http://www.physicstoday.org/vol-57/iss-7/p56.html

Last edited by a moderator:
Giacoli is a good introductory physics textbook author, and his problem sets have a good range of difficulty.

ahhhh a secondary student eh? Just like me, I've just graduated though. But if you want to understand at least stuff in physics, calculus is a must ! the 530 section in the library is a good place to start, especially with popular physics books which are non-mathematical. once you've read and understand a fair bit about the content, its good to go on to something more mathematical.