Wavefunction collapse on degenerate states

In summary, The conversation discusses a Hamiltonian with degenerate energy eigenstates and the resulting wave function after an energy measurement. It is uncertain which of the degenerate eigenstates the wave function would collapse on and if the resulting wave function would be a linear combination of the degenerate eigenstates, with coefficients determined by the subspace. The person speaking is unsure about collapsing and its implications in this scenario.
osturk
Hello, I am a beginner on the sbject so please correct if I'm using some sloppy terminology. I'll try to be clear.

Consider a Hamiltonian with degenerate energy eigenstates (say the degeneracy is on angular momentum as in hydrogen atom).

Which of the degenerate eigenstates would the wave function collapse on, after an energy measurement?

Would the resulting wave function be a linear combination of the degenerate eigenstates (which has different angular momentum numbers m,l)?
If so, how are the coefficients of the linear combination determined?

Thanks in advance,
Deniz

Physics news on Phys.org
I guess any of the vectors in the subspace could be the new state, but what do I know ? I don't believe in collapsing anyway.

Related to Wavefunction collapse on degenerate states

1. What is wavefunction collapse on degenerate states?

Wavefunction collapse on degenerate states refers to the phenomenon in quantum mechanics where the wavefunction of a system collapses into one of multiple possible states when measured, even though the states have the same energy. This collapse is random and cannot be predicted, and it is a fundamental aspect of quantum mechanics.

2. How does wavefunction collapse on degenerate states occur?