Wave-particle duality and my non-physicist friend

In summary: I appreciate the responses.In summary, my friend said that physicists have not decided whether light is a wave or a particle, but that quantum physics tells us that photons are quanta of electromagnetic waves. Phonons are similar to photons, in that they are quanta of sound, and use QFT methods to understand them.
Guineafowl
Hi, I'm a vet with an amateur interest in physics. In discussion with a friend about the usefulness of physics he stated that physicists had not even decided whether light was a wave or a particle. I said the following:

'The question of whether light is a wave or particle is not one which really troubles modern physicists. A photon is not something we can describe in terms of things we humans can see with our eyes. If you do an experminent to see if light is a wave, it is; if you do the same for particles, it is too. Quantum physics tells us that photons are quanta of electromagnetic waves, so if you were to twist my arm I'd say it is a particle which has emergent wavelike properties. Photons are described by wavefunctions and governed by quantum amplitudes; these are complex numbers and as such have a magnitude and also a phase. This phase rotates as time goes on and gives rise to an illusion of wavelike behaviour.'

Was I taking crap?

Physics news on Phys.org
A photon is a particle only in the quantum field theoretical sense. This is not what you would tend to call a particle in classical mechanics. A photon is also not a wave.

However, what we call particles in QFT are objects that have some properties reminiscent of waves and some that are reminiscent of classical particles.

My short answer would have been that it is neither, but it has some properties that we typically ascribe to particles and waves.

Likes vanhees71 and bhobba
You can also see our FAQ:
https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/is-light-a-wave-or-a-particle.511178/