Very Elementary Group Theory Problem

In summary, the conversation discusses the proof that the subset of a set with an associative law of composition and identity element, consisting of invertible elements, is a group. This is shown through the verification of associativity, identity element, and existence of inverses, with the only remaining step being to prove closure.
end_game
Hi. I'm new to Group Theory and wanted to see if I had the right train of thought for this problem.

Homework Statement

Let S be a set with an associative law of composition and with an identity element. Prove that the subset of S consisting of invertible elements is a group.

Homework Equations

A group is a set G together with a law of composition that is associative and has an identity element, and such that every element of G has an inverse.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'll denote my subset of S by G.

I know G has the identity element of S as the identity element is invertible.

The associativity for the law of composition is inherited and the existence of inverses we get for free. All that I'm left with is verifying that G has closure. That is for a,b in G, ab is in G.

It's sufficient to show ab is invertible.

But, [tex](ab)(b^{-1}a^{-1})=e[/tex]

where e is the identity element. So [tex]ab[/tex] is invertible and thus is an element of G and G is a group.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Not sure why my tex code isn't working...

Use [ tex] and [ /tex] (without the spaces). Don't use [ latex] and [/ latex].

I think [itex] works too. The problem is the wrong slash.

Thanks. I think I got it now (the tex code that is).

Last edited:

Related to Very Elementary Group Theory Problem

1. What is group theory?