Vectors as a differential op and covectors as differenential

In summary, the conversation discusses different ways of defining tangent vectors on a manifold. One definition is through equivalence classes of curves, while another is as derivations that obey the Leibniz rule. Both definitions are equivalent and can be used to understand the tangent space at a point on a manifold. Additionally, the notation df is an invariant way to describe the Jacobian matrix of a function as a linear map between vector spaces.
binbagsss
Hey,

I'm new to this , and I understand the derivation of the transition laws for overlapping regions of a manifold for covectors and vectors starting from thinking of them as a differential and a differential operator respectively, but I don't really have a clue where this comes from...

Any assistance or a point toward some good source, greatly appreciated !

Physics news on Phys.org
There's a more intuitive definition of the tangent space at p that isn't used much, because it's harder to work with. By this definition, a tangent vector at p is an equivalence class of curves through p. The equivalence relation is defined using a coordinate system ##x:U\to\mathbb R^n## such that ##p\in U##. We say that two curves ##C:\mathbb R\to M## and ##B:\mathbb R\to M## such that ##C(0)=B(0)=p## are equivalent if
$$(x\circ C)'(0)=(x\circ B)'(0).$$ It turns out that this definition is independent of the chosen coordinate system. We can then define addition and scalar multiplication on the set of equivalence classes to turn it into a vector space. And then we can prove that the tangent space defined this way is isomorphic to the already familiar tangent space at p. The isomorphism is the map ##\phi## defined by
$$\phi([C])(f)=(f\circ C)'(0)$$ for all equivalence classes [C] and all smooth functions f.

There's more information in my posts in this thread and the one I linked to from there.